In 2006, we discovered Lubec, Maine quite by accident and fell in love with the town, the people and the incredible natural beauty of the area. Within five days of arriving in Lubec, we bought a home on on Summer Street. The following summer, we purchased a historic sardine factory with its own wharf.
It has become our dream to preserve this historic building which was 100 years old in 2010, while creating a modern comfortable Inn with both suites and apartments where guests can enjoy the moods of the sea, the friendliness of the town and the natural beauty which surrounds this most easterly town in the United States.
We hope our guests adjust their watch to tide time, fall asleep to the sounds of the sea and wake up to the tranquility of a day beside the bay where a fresh catch from the sea will arrive right on our wharf while playful seals and whales swim nearby.
A warm welcome awaits you at the Kilby House Inn, a recently-restored Queen Anne house, reflecting Eastport at its commercial peak in the late 19th Century.
Built by local entrepreneur and seaman Herbert Kilby, the late-Victorian home boasts four delightful bed-chambers, each with its own individual charm and style.
Antiques and family heirlooms, many originally belonging to the Kilby family, many others from the family of the present owner, grace the bed-chambers and common rooms on the first level. The Kilby House has been furnished and decorated to create a light and welcoming ambiance, rather than the dark and heavy atmosphere found in many Victorian homes.
Enjoy an island getaway at our Historic Victorian Inn. We are located in the quaint fishing village of Lords Cove and overlook the picturesque waters of the Bay of Fundy.
Deer Island Inn is a beautifully restored five bedroom heritage home, built in the late 1800's. The Inn has been extensively renovated to blend modern conveniences and private full baths with the architectural grandeur of the 1800's. The entrance features a grand curved staircase and breakfast is served in a beautiful double parlour. Each of the five guest rooms are decorated to reflect the period and have quality linens and duvets for a peaceful night sleep. The Honeymoon Room also offers a double Jacuzzi.
Lords Cove is one of the main villages on Deer Island with two general stores, a restaurant and the local wharf for fishing or boating are all within walking distance. Deer Island is known for our peaceful pace, cool ocean breezes and abundance of nature's treasures.
The Main House was originally built in 1816. It has been renovated to combine the rustic charm of hand hewn beams and the modern conveniences of private baths and electric heat. Antique Shaker furniture, extensive library and a large fireplace grace the shared livingroom.
The Inn itself includes three bedrooms with private bath and private entrance and there are five cottages (one with an apartment upstairs).
The Dining Room at The Inn is open 7 Days a week from late June until mid October. In May and early June it is open on weekends and whenever there is sufficient demand from in house guests. The Menu changes daily.
The Inn at Whale Cove Cottages is located at 120 Whistle Rd., a ½ mile up Whistle Road in the village of North Head on Grand Manan Island, New Brunswick. A tree lined lane leads you to the Inn and Cottages overlooking Whale Cove and Fish Head.
If you want a quiet, traditional Bed and Breakfast, The Peacock House is it. The innkeeper, Mary Beth Hoffman will make you feel right at home in a friendly, unassuming style. Attention to detail and guest comfort is her primary focus. Conveniently located on peaceful Summer Street in the village center, Peacock House is just 3 blocks from shopping and restaurants. Enjoy a leisurely walk to the Lubec Channel to enjoy a dinner overlooking the water. The West Quoddy Light house, Campobello Island and the FDR Park are just minutes from Peacock House by car.
On the second floor of The Commons Eastport, two glorious fully-furnished two-bedroom seaside vacation rentals are available by the week between June and October. From November to May, our vacation rentals are ideal for sabbaticals, and may be rented by the week or the month. In addition, we have a classroom/ studio/conference room available for rent by the day.
Relax in private, clean, bright, en-suite rooms.
Enjoy ease of slumber in softly draped beds.
Wake to a joyful atmosphere, and a fresh, hot, two course gourmet breakfast.
Feel welcome to enjoy our main parlour for reading, or listening to quiet music, or visit our library and curl up and read.
Don't forget to make a reservation for AFTERNOON TEA!,
Or visit our in house gift shop, for local hand made treasures, island curiosities, tea and tea equipage, and more!
In 1874, James R Talbot had the front portion of our inn built for his second wife by architect J. Tenney. The original front portion of the house, built in 1771 by his grandfather Captain Peter Talbot, was moved up the hill by oxen. The 1771 back section is still attached to the inn. The Henry family has taken 4 years to lovingly restore this inn. We invite you to explore the many sites in Downeast Maine while staying in the comfort of our historic home.